In English suomeksi
Search mallorcator.net website
Es Trenc Mallorca

Hotel and restaurant reviews

In this section you can read reviews and write your own reviews of hotels and restaurants in Mallorca. To read a review just click on the name of the hotel or restaurant.

You can write your own reviews or fill in the star ratings for your review by following the links below.

Write your hotel review...

Write your restaurant review...

Useful Tip: More information about the hotels on Mallorca and also more hotel reviews on our Mallorca hotels section.


Search Reviews

of with rating   to
in created
search words       

Browse reviews

Click on an entry on the list to see the full review.

Location Hotel Created Rating
Alaro hotel- 01.05.2015

hotel-,
Alaro

Rating:
Resort: Premises: Staff:
Location: Rooms: Services:
Pricing: Cleanliness: Food:
Comments:

dexter

Traveler info:

Ages: dexter
From: dexter
Dates of travel: dexter


Cala D'Or Esmeralda Park Hotel 13.02.2008

Esmeralda Park Hotel,
Cala D'Or

Rating:
Resort: Premises: Staff:
Location: Rooms: Services:
Pricing: Cleanliness: Food:
Comments:

My husband and I have been to this hotel three times (May 2002, June 2003 and June 2006) and it is one of my favourite hotels in Mallorca because of its exceptionally lovely location by the beach, spacious and clean rooms and since it's within walking distance of the resort centrum.

Hotel grounds

Esmeralda Park Hotel is an aparthotel complex right next to a beautiful beach called Cala Esmeralda, actually the hotel buildings encircle the beach so that many apartments have lovely views of the bay and the hotel's main swimming pool, which is located in the middle. This pool has sections with different depths to suit children of all ages and off to the side there is also a smaller pool which is quiter and has a deeper section and in there is also an indoor heated pool, jacuzzi and sauna which are in use in the early and late season when it may be too cold to swim outside. Next to the indoor sauna there is a gym that can be used by all guests with all kinds of equipment. The hotel grounds are well kept tropical gardens with palms, flowers and pine trees here and there.

Hotel buildings

The hotel is comprised of many apartment blocks each with about 3-4 stories and there is no elevators so carrying luggage up can be a bit tiring if you're room is on the top floor. Esmeralda Park is a part of the Inturotel chain and there is another Inturotel hotel right next to Esmeralda Park called Azul Playa and I think some parts of the complex are referred to as Esmeralda Garden. Basically they are all part of the same hotel complex and guests can use either sections facilities.

Rooms

The rooms are spacious and clean and have a nice kitchenette with stove, fridge with small freezer compartment, sink area and basic eating utensils, dishes and pots are provided. The bathrooms have a bathtub and are spacious. Towels and sheets are changed several times a week, maybe even daily, but being environmentally conscious we chose to put the no cleaning sign out on some days to avoid unneccessary cleaning. We stayed in 1-bedroom apartments each time, which means you have a separate bedroom with twin beds that are pushed next to each other and a living room with two sofas that can be made in to beds, dining table and chairs for four people and the kitchenette at the end. The balconies are spacious and have nice sets of table and chairs and a set of clothes drying lines that you can pull out at one end. It was lovely eating breakfast on the balcony every morning!

During the night all rooms we have stayed in have been very quiet and we have slept very well! Even the room closer to the nearby shopping street with more bars and restaurants was quiet.

Food

Esmeralda Park has a main restaurant, poolside bar and a supermarket selling some food. Breakfast and dinner are served in the restaurant and lunch at the pool bar where there are several salads and dishes with french fries and one day of the week is paella day and they serve this big pan full of paella by the pool, we didn't try it as we had already eaten when we noticed it, but it looked wonderful! We tried the salads at the pool bar one day and they were good!

We chose to make breakfast ourselves since we thought the full breakfast available at the hotel's restaurant was too expensive considering we don't eat that much in the morning - but we did try it once and if you like a large breakfast, there is lots to choose from. There's English breakfast, many types of cereals, fruits etc. and the cost was about 7-8 euros per person I recall and think children had to pay only half the price. We thought the breakfast was good overall, only some kiwi fruit were still raw. There's also dinner served at the hotel's restaurant, but we didn't try it since there were so many restaurants we wanted to try in Cala D'Or centrum.

Supermarkets

There is Inturotel's own small supermarket right next to the hotel where you can buy diverse items, mainly food and things you might need during your trip. There were fruits and vegetables, several types of bread including rye bread, eggs, chips, candy, drinks, candles, toiletries, items like dish washing brushes for the kitchenette, postcards, beach toys and so forth. There are many more shops just around the corner along the long road where you enter the hotel grounds from. Note that almost all shops are some sort of supermarket even if they're really small. There's only one truly large supermarket in the resort called Caprabo and that's quite far from the hotel if you're walking.

Doctor

A doctor visits the hotel for a few hours several times a week and has a small office by the hotel reception. Unfortunately my stomach got upset and we had to use this service. It turned out that the doctor spoke very little English, but he was good and prescribed some medicine that we then had to buy from the pharmacy, which was luckily a very short walk away just around the corner. There's also a medical center office nearby if you need a doctor outside of his visiting times.

Staff

We have no complaints about the staff other than some didn't speak English so well, but we managed to communicate with them. During one of our visits our balcony door lock didn't work and we told the receptionist about it and it was fixed that same day.

Entertainment

There is entertainment every evening by the main building and earlier there's a children's disco and throughout the day there's organized activities that vary daily from aerobics in the main pool to volleyball by the beach. There's also an animation team to entertain children during the day.


Other

There's a safety deposit box in the apartments which costs a bit extra but airconditioning was included in the price and worked very well. Shower water was always warm and there was plenty of pressure, unlike some other hotels we have stayed at in Mallorca.

There are various international day trips available to tourist attractions all around the island like to Sa Calobra and the Inca market that anyone staying at the hotel can attend.

The hotel chain Inturotel seems to be German, but the staff do speak enough English and according to name tags also staff speaking Spanish, Dutch and French can be found.



Overall I have to say Esmeralda Park is one of the nicest hotels in Cala D'Or and Mallorca! It may not be the cheapest 3-star hotel available there, but it is worth that little bit of extra money.

Traveler info:

Ages: couple in mid 20's
From: Finland
Dates of travel: May 2002, June 2003 and June 2006


     

Cala D'Or Apartementos Azul Playa 14.12.2007

Apartementos Azul Playa,
Cala D'Or

Rating:
Resort: Premises: Staff:
Location: Rooms: Services:
Pricing: Cleanliness: Food:
Comments:

I would like to go back for an other week

Traveler info:

Ages: middle aged couple
From: The Netherlands
Dates of travel: in June 2006


Cala D'Or Apartamentos Azul Playa 09.12.2007

Apartamentos Azul Playa,
Cala D'Or

Rating:
Resort: Premises: Staff:
Location: Rooms: Services:
Pricing: Cleanliness: Food:
Comments:

The hotel is build on a hill next to a beach called Cala Ferrera. The hotel complex consists of several smaller buildings elevated along the hillside with lots of staircases, which makes the premises seem a bit confusing before you learn how to move around the hotel. If your room is located on the lower levels of the complex you'll probably have a nice garden instead of balcony. The rooms on the higher levels of the complex are equipped with a large balcony.

The overall quality of the rooms was good and they were equipped with basic cooking utilities. Only problem we encountered was with the water pressure of the huge bathtub. It would have taken several hours to fill the bathtub so we never had the change to try it.

There is a large pool area with a snack bar and a restaurant on a large balcony overlooking to the beach but we didn't spend that much time by the pool cause the resort offers so many lovely beaches to explore.

The reception of Azul Playa is quite small and it is not open 24 hours a day but the service was really friendly when it was available.

We stayed at the Apartamentos Azul Playa in June 2006 and enjoyed our stay at Cala D'or very much.

Traveler info:

Ages: 27, 28
From: Helsinki, Finland
Dates of travel: June 2006


     

Palma Nova Bahia Palma Nova 19.08.2008

Bahia Palma Nova,
Palma Nova

Rating:
Resort: Premises: Staff:
Location: Rooms: Services:
Pricing: Cleanliness: Food:
Comments:

We had a two week holiday at Bahia Palma Nova during the June of 2005. The atmosphere of the hotel was quite relaxing and it seemed that the hotel was popular among the older visitors.

Bahia Palma nova is located right next to the beutiful beach and there are plenty of good restaurants close to the hotel.

Our room and the balcony both where a bit too small for our taste. The reseption was always available and the staff seemed to be friendly :)

Traveler info:

Ages: 26, 27
From: Helsinki Finland
Dates of travel:


Playa de Palma Ambos mundos 30.07.2009

Ambos mundos,
Playa de Palma

Rating:
Resort: Premises: Staff:
Location: Rooms: Services:
Pricing: Cleanliness: Food:
Comments:

This hotel is a joke as far as service, sanitation, and most of all security. Not once but three times did I return to my room to find either my front door or balcony door wide open and surely any money and passport were gone. to add insult to injury the staff proceeded to treat me like the swine flu (which is very prevelant in the area) and demanded that i pay for the whole week 3 days before check out because, get this, THEY DIDN'T TRUST ME TO PAY!! the 230euros after having 750euros and my pass port stolen. BE AWARE!! , there were bombings very near this area today (july 29th). I could go on but I want to forget the entire expierence. Enjoy your vacation elsewhere.

Traveler info:

Ages: 25
From: Canada
Dates of travel: July 21-28th


Santa Ponsa hotel sorrento 28.09.2010

hotel sorrento,
Santa Ponsa

Rating:
Resort: Premises: Staff:
Location: Rooms: Services:
Pricing: Cleanliness: Food:
Comments:

Traveler info:

Ages:
From:
Dates of travel:


1 

For a great selection of places to stay with discount prices visit Mallorca Hotels for more information.


Latest updates

Santa Ponsa

updated 30.01.2010

Santa Ponsa or Santa Ponça, is a very well known and la... view

Cala de sa Font de n'Alis

updated 22.11.2009

Cala de sa Font de n'Alis lies in the Mondrago Nat... view

Fundación Yannick y Ben Jakober

updated 26.01.2012

Six kilometres from Alcúdia, along the attractive ... view